Resources – Session 2 – ‘Heterodoxies’ – 11 June 2015

Resources from our second session Introductions to Medieval Culture session are now online!!!

Introductions To Medieval Culture


Dr Daniel J Reeve & Meghan Quinlan

The Fourfold Sense of Scripture:

This is the system, widespread/orthodox in medieval Europe, of scriptural exegesis (interpretation of the Bible) according to which the scripture has four modes of meaning, the literal (the description of things that happened), the allegorical (what it figures/represents for a Christian reader), the moral (it’s import for daily life – the behavioural norms that can be derived from it), and the anagogical (looking forward to te eschatological future and the narrative of salvation history).

Heresy, a definition:

Robert Grosseteste – ‘Heresy is an idea [sentenzia] chosen by human perception contrary to scripture, publicly taught and obstinately defended’

The Trivium –

Three disciplines which form the first stage of a medieval education: Grammar, Logic, Rhetoric.

The Quadrivium – 

Four disciplines which form the higher stage of a medieval education: Arithmetic, Geometry, Astronomy, Music.

Scripture cited:

Luke 23:43 – ‘I say to you(,) today(,) you will…

View original post 32 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s